Students display their new certificates of rank at the I Liq Chuan retreat in Poland


Why Grade?

The purpose of optional grading is to give each Zhong Xin Dao I Liq Chuan student the confidence of knowing that their skill at each level tested has been verified and validated by an officially licensed instructor.

It is not to limit materials available for students.

Although students are graded only on materials in their own level, all students, even beginners, need to explore materials taught at different levels to broaden their understanding of the relationships.

It is up to the individual to absorb what they can grasp and the grading system provides students with clear guidance.

For example, student level 1 and 2 are graded on the “15 Basic Exercises”, but would also train spinning hands and various other exercises with the 13 points in mind.

For a student level 6 who are graded on “Spinning Hands”, their understanding of the exercise would be deeper and more precise than a student level 1 or 2, as they have gone through other levels that helps them see clearer.


With this validation, a Zhong Xin Dao I Liq Chuan student has the ability to go anywhere (I Liq Chuan classes, workshops, and seminars are held in the United States and throughout the world) and be recognized and respected for the skills achieved.

Without this grading, an I Liq Chuan student, with no recognized standing in the system, would have no authoritative source to effectively answer any challenge of their opinions of, or instructions in the art of Zhong Xin Dao I Liq Chuan.

Teach To Learn

We offer opportunities for students to test for Instructor Levels as part of the learning process. Graded Instructor Level students are ready to teach their own class if they wish.

Instructors are eligible to teach content in levels that they have been graded on.

Licensed Zhong Xin Dao I Liq Chuan instructors are issued an official license from CFILC to host their own class, in additional to a certificate for passing their graded instructor level.

Instructors are required to maintain their practice to stay current.

The Ranks

There are 11 student levels, six instructor levels, and three “master level” ranks as outlined below.

The “Meditation and Philosophy” student and instructor levels are “non-standard” ranks for those who wish to help teach and spread the philosophy, concepts and principles of Zhong Xin Dao I Liq Chuan through the basic exercises and 21 Form, but do not wish to, or due to illness or injury, are not physically capable of completing the full student and instructor curriculum.

Quality Assurance

This grading system helps us all to maintain the purity of the art for generations to come.

Grand-master Sam Chin Discusses The Student Levels

Please click here for a detailed explanation of the student levels 1-8 by GM Sam Chin. This talk was given in Arizona in 2012.

Student Levels

Instructor Levels

Study On Your Own!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.